*Based off the photo post for the week*

We looked at the slightly antique bikes, just sitting there.

They weren’t even locked. As we got closer, I scouted out which one I wanted. Did I go for sturdy or antique look?

My two friends were probably not looking at them comparatively like me since I was more competitive than them. Sam was always observing nature and making comments about falling leaves and such while Dylan was constantly chatting with people.

“You know this is actually a different quite idea for two reasons,” Dylan started saying and I smiled to myself because he always had a number of reasons for thinking things. I had yet to discover a secret Pro/Con notebook of his but someday I would find it and see what my personal pros and cons were on his list.

“What are those two reasons?” Sam asked as he plucked up a piece of grass that had been missed by the lawnmower.

“One, they have been there for a long time so people will notice if they are gone and may possibly put the fact that we are riding odd bikes with the missing bikes from here,”  Dylan started in a professorial tone as Sam made the piece of grass into a bow.

“Secondly?” I asked.

Dylan smiled, “Two, they seem like Go Anywhere Bikes.”

I smiled at that idea and looked over at Sam. He held the grass bow up to his shirt and looked up at me with eyebrows raised, as if I was his mirror. I nodded in affirmation of his masterpiece.

 

~~~~~~

 

“They must think this place is empty. Oh well, it might as well be. I know that look in their eyes,” Jackie said to her Mother who was dozing on the couch. They were at the Parks and Recreation Center of their small town and Jackie had finally decided her desk needed to be renovated and her Mother was ‘keeping her company.’

Her Mother stuttered awake, “What?”

“These kids look like trouble. They are looking at those old bikes. I can’t believe no one took them earlier though,” Jackie replied, watching them.

“Damned kids, can’t find healthy things to do so they all steal. I remember when I was a kid, reading and such,” the mother said.

“Yeah, what’d you read?” Jackie asked her Mom pertly.

“There’s too books many to mention. These kids and their situation. I see myself in them. I was that girl, the one with the boys but not the insanity and drama.”

“Yeah?”

“We were a peculiar group but we went places and we lived,” the Mother said reminiscently.

“Maybe I should kick them out or something,” Jackie told her Mother with an annoyed facial expression.

“No, they still have places to go,” the Mother replied as she leaned her head back again. “Let em take them bikes.”

 

~~~~~~

“Which one should I have for myself?” Sam asked contemplatively.

“I dunno but I’m having this blue one here. It’s very much my style!” I replied as I went to the bike I wanted and started to pick the lock. Sam watched me for a moment before starting on his bike lock.

Dylan worked on his as he talked, “You know, this’ll be one of those stories that I tell my kids. When they’re older, of course. We have to make this experience story worthy, you know? I don’t want to not have kids without memories.”

I smiled at him while he talked. I knew that I could never let me see him watch me, so I would look away before he noticed. Eyes were a big thing to me but with his social personality I didn’t think he was on the same level as me.

We all got our bikes unlocked and looked around a little apprehensively but no one was really watching as they went on their ways. Or, maybe they thought we owned the bikes.

Did we look like we were antique bike owners?

“Wow, this is great. I’m riding a pink bike. Why did I pick this particular one?” Dylan asked us as he looked down at the bike he was straddling.

I pulled my bike up next to him and smirked, “Well you’ll be able to honk that horn if you’re crossing the street!”

He wasn’t about to reply so I looked to Sam. He brushed off his seat with a flourish and looked at me with a smile.

“Guys, why you just sitting there? Go Anywhere Bikes are meant to go somewhere.”

And so we did.

