“What do you mean, I was closed off?”

“You aren’t like that anymore! It was just how it seemed last year,” replied my best friend.

“Matt, how did you even become my friend if you thought I was closed off?” I asked him, giving him an incredulous look.

“C’mon, you don’t need to stress this,” he replied with a weary frown at me.

I didn’t even register that he’d replied because my mind was racing back to the previous year. Had I really been closed off or was it just his perspective? Someone had just mentioned the other day about how I show more emotions now.

My mind eventually circled around to the idea that maybe they were right. The fearful part of me wondered if it was my inner personality and I wasn’t who I thought it was.

“I didn’t think I was closed off but I guess I could see it,” I said as I turned towards him again and away from my thoughts.

He raised his eyebrows, “You realize that this isn’t what you need to dwell on?”

It was my turn to frown, “I never try to dwell on these things, it just ends up happening.”

He gave me a parent-y look with eyebrows raised, mouth in a straight line and eyes focused.

“I’ll do my best to think of other things,” I replied with an eye roll.

He smiled. “Good.”

