Sometimes I just want to be a kid again.

But not because it was more fun or because I had less responsibility, like they say.

I want to be a kid again because back then I was still learning and didn’t know any better.

When I had a bad day, I woke up the next day feeling better but not bad for it. When I thought that the people around me could handle me and the things I did because there I was, not knowing any better.

When I had my Mom as the person who didn’t make mistakes. When I was too caught up in my playhouse stories to realize that there are bad things in the world.

Unfortunately, now I know better. I know more. When I wake up the day after having a bad day, I wonder how many people I’ll have to apologize to. I wonder why I didn’t do it better. I wonder why I can’t seem to truly learn how to “fake it till you make it.”

I wonder who or what I can fix today, how it all turns out. I wonder why I can’t stop thinking about what it was like to be a kid, what it was like to not wonder who I was or where I was going.

Sometimes I just want to be a kid again. Sometimes I buy Bubblicious gum to remind me what it was like to be there and what it was like.

And I sit here and wonder because when I was a kid I was always wondering. I guess in some ways I can just be a kid again, for a little while.

