When I write something, I love getting feedback. It can be a little bit scary to let someone read something I slaved over (or in some cases, really didn’t work hard at all) but I like it because someone else can give me suggestions.

But my favorite part about getting an edit is when the editor asks questions. If the editor is good, they will ask helpful questions.

For example:

Questions that clarify- “What do you mean by this line?”

Questions that predict- “Will this be a love triangle?” “Are you planning on making her personality lead her to trouble later?”

Questions that make you reflect- “Is this scene necessary?”

What does this have to do with you? Next time you edit someone’s writing, ask questions! Ask your editors to ask questions.

Questions, questions, questions.

