I like to write when I’m feeling emotional.

I don’t like to plot or plan or work out any sorts of logistics.

I just want to write. Sometimes I write it all out in a journal. Other times, I give my feelings to my characters. It helps me.

How to do this?

Pick a character

I often choose my main character because I usually know them the best of all the characters. However, it can be useful to choose a character that you don’t feel as comfortable with so that you can explore their personality.

Harness your feelings

Figure out how you feel about whatever is going on in your life. Identify what is going through your mind and what truths you can pull from the situation.

Give your feelings to your characters

Give your feelings to your character. In order to do this, you may have to come up with a situation that would make your character feel the same emotions that you are feeling. Then you can let your character explore the emotions and feelings.

Make ‘em suffer.

