by: Rebecca Taylor

(written as a writing challenge several years ago).

I am the tablet on which God’s words are issued to all humanity to try and make the world a better place for everyone to live in. Sadly, there are many who have trouble abiding by the rules that God put in place.  There are ten brothers with a common goal written on me, to guide the people of the world.

The first of them is named “One” and his mission is to remind everyone to only follow God and not worship false gods. When he sees this law going un-followed, his tears run onto me and I am stained with the sadness One feels. I am old and have seen much pain over the thousands of years of my existence.

“Two” is the second brother, he and One are very close. Two is also responsible for turning people back to God, when they put materialistic items ahead of their spiritual wellbeing. Over the years, Two has seen how complicated his message can be. He knows that God wants his people to be happy, and he watches them strive to accomplish many things in an abundance of ways, but he grieves when he sees them wanting the wrong things. Two keeps his sadness deep within him, until his heart is as heavy as my stony surface.

“Three” is a simple commandment to follow. He asks that people not take the Lord’s name in vain. There is great sorrow for Three when he hears people swearing, Three is the most vocal of all the brothers who call me home. He often asks the others what he should do to help remind God’s people of God’s wishes.

“Four” who is the brother who is in charge of reminding people to worship on Sunday, says, “We must not give up. Times have changed since God first spoke. This doesn’t mean we stop trying, it just means that we need to find ways to reach people in this modern world.”

“Five” who commands everyone to respect their parents, is the most enthusiastic of all the boys. He likes to have lively debates and discuss re-education for both children and parents of all ages. He stirs my senses, his choice of words so poetic, that they captivate me. He works very hard to promote understanding and communication between the generations.

“Six” is the commandment who carries the heaviest burden. He tells the world to not kill. The pain in his heart reaches deep into my rocky soul, it makes a chill run through my stony spine when he weeps for someone who was found by Satan.

“Seven” sees a world of pain as well, as he tells people to not cheat on their spouse or significant other.

“Eight’s” words are also chiselled on my heart. He says, don’t steal. All of humanity must earn what they have and not take it from others.

“Nine” tells us not to lie, that telling false truths to others is deception which will bring no good to this world that he calls home.

The youngest of the brothers is “Ten,” he is in charge of reminding the world to not want what others have. He and Eight are constant companions, working together to teach the importance of non-materialistic goods and of being happy with what you have and not always wanting something just because someone else has it.

Sometimes when I listen very carefully I can hear the angels conversing with the brothers, giving them hope with their gentle words and knowledge, in the darkest moments, they can be heard saying, “Today was a tough one, but do not be disheartened, tomorrow can be better – you just have to go back to teaching. People will listen to you, I know it, and so does God. Look to the parables and the teachings of Jesus, the number of times he was persecuted, and the number of followers he gained.”

All of these brothers’ words are drilled into my heart. Together they spell out a better way for all of humanity. I watch them go out into the community and try to make the world a better place for both present and future generations. I feel their pain as it tears through them into me, but I also feel their joy when they see someone do a good deed. These courageous brothers know that each tiny gesture makes a difference and that one act of kindness can lead to a multitude of amazing endeavours throughout the world.  I often describe this teamwork approach like a spider web. Each person on earth is a tiny piece of silk and when each one does their part and joins with another, eventually the picture comes into focus, and the beauty can be seen, just like the completed web which is the home for the spider. I know that in the years that come, many great strides will be taken, and that there will also be some setbacks, but that if perseverance prevails within humanity as a whole and in the brothers who crusade with the words that God gave to them, that the road map for happiness throughout the world may someday be achieved. I will do my part by continuing to hold myself together and not break under the pressure of the heaviness of the words that are placed in my safekeeping.

