by: Rebecca Taylor

****I wrote this in June 2013 and believe that it is important that we all consider this****

There are important issues to consider in the world – things of concern, yet if you read the news, you will see that it is full of fear and pettiness. However, the problem is that the ridiculous conflicts are infringing on some people’s human rights. Language is an issue, but I don’t think it needs to be. There is absolutely no reason why in Canada we cannot all live in harmony. It is the conscious effort we all make to communicate that is important. I consider myself bilingual (English & French). English is my first language but when I went to school I began to learn French in kindergarten. I can carry on a conversation with most people in French and if I do not know I word, I can speak “Franglais.” Many French Quebecers that I know try to speak English and if they do not know a word, they will say it in French. We manage to get the point across and that is what matters. Why are we fighting about one language needing to be larger on signs? Are we not all equal? There have been so many fights to be equal over the years – rights involving gender equality, skin colour, religion and sexual preference. It’s actually quite simple if you stop and think about it, we are all human beings. The next time you go to introduce yourself think about this fact. Where we come from is a part of our history and I can honestly say I like my small town roots, the history of my province and of my country but if it comes down to an argument of who am I, the best answer might just be “a person.” Let us stop the arguing and make a pact to get along. We should not allow a few people to cause pandemonium. We need to step up and say enough. Money and valuable resources are being spent to enforce language laws yet there are problems with our roads, our education and healthcare systems. Would these funds and human resources not be better used in places where they can benefit everyone?

Rosa Parks said, “Racism is still with us. But it is up to us to prepare our children for what they have to meet, and, hopefully, we shall overcome.” I say, let us join together and overcome our differences. We are all equal; we are all unique human beings who have much to offer this world, if we stand up and get it done. One step in front of the other will lead us down the road where we want to go, let’s start and we will build bridges as we go to make anything possible. There is a Kenyan proverb that says “Sticks in a bundle are unbreakable.” Let all humanity be that bundle. Someone also said, “TEAM=Together Everyone Accomplishes More,” let these wise words be a lesson to us all. If we are all willing to set aside the pettiness and the fear, we can make good things happen. Things that matter. I believe it’s possible to make positive change, do you?

**ALSO, check out the POP Writing contest!**

