**Previously published by Long Story Short in April 2015**

by: Rebecca Taylor

Bright colours align the garden path

I look at the marigolds – so yellow and orange

Their delicate faces look like they’re smiling at me

Then I see the forget-me-nots – mostly blue

They remind me to tell the people I love how I feel

Next I visit the multi-coloured tulips

Their blooms open and welcoming ask me to stay a while

In the back are the towering sunflowers

Their height a reminder to stand tall against the elements of life

Now I see the roses – a multitude of hews living together

A message that I need harmony every day

The apple blossoms are gorgeous up in their tree

Their scent delightful and I take a moment to enjoy

Lilac buds are opening on their bushes

I snip a few to take inside with me

To remind me of the bliss I had on my walk.

