by: Rebecca Taylor

Sienna brushed her hair in front of the bathroom mirror and reapplied her make‑up hoping to look half-way presentable for the TV cameras. It was pouring rain outside and she had gotten soaked coming out of work. Thankfully, she was wearing a jacket and when she took it off, the depth of her drenching didn’t show. She walked out of the ladies’ room and headed down the hall to the reception area where she sat to wait for Ellen Young. Her hands were shaking a bit and it wasn’t from the cold. She was nervous about the meeting and what the interviewer would ask. She knew that she had written sounded somewhat crazy and under normal circumstances, Sienna would have raised an eyebrow at the thought of doing what she was doing, but she felt miserable sometimes, wondering about Todd, and whether or not he could love her, if he was safe, what kind of a mother she could to his little girl.

Sienna had been waiting about five minutes when Ellen came to get her and together they walked into her office.

“It’s nice to meet,” said Ellen, “I must say you have an interesting story to tell.”

“Yes,” answered Sienna, “And I know it probably sounds silly, but Todd is so real to me. If he exists, which in my heart, I believe he does, I want to find him. Otherwise, why could I see him so clearly in my dreams?”

“There are no guarantees that he’ll come forward if he is out there,” replied Ellen.

“I know, but I want to try, if you’re willing to give me a chance.”

“We’ll give it a try, and we’ll get our researchers looking for him too, but if he is military like you think, it may not be possible to find him through the usual channels. Have you tried finding him on social media?”

“I’ve looked online but there are so many Todd Brody’s, I don’t know where to start and it’s so nerve wracking trying to think of what to write to a man, one who I love so much, and how do I weed out the ones that aren’t him. Ms. Young, I’m usually a private person, but I feel like I’m losing myself wanting to meet my Mr. Right.”

“What if Todd Brody isn’t him? What if you meet him and find out that he’s nothing like you’ve fantasized?”

“I think it would be easier to deal with the truth than to keep wondering.”

 

 

