by: Rebecca Taylor

“Mail, mail and more mail,” said Sienna leafing through another pile of letters that she brought in. “But nothing from Todd. Self-help groups, dating services, men wanting to go on dates. Some of them sound nice but they’re not Todd Brody. I need to know is he real or isn’t he.”

“Mrrow,” said a voice interrupting her thoughts.

“Yes, Pumpkin, I’ll feed you in a minute.” She put the letters down and headed to the kitchen, opened the cupboard and proceeded to put cat kibble in the dish. Why does this have to be so complicated. Why couldn’t I just meet someone at the coffee shop or my office or something, but no, the person that I think is right for me came to me in my dreams. And what if my dreams were just a way to get me out of my shell as some of these letters are telling me – a lily pad to my future as one person wrote. Ugh, this is all so frustrating. The shrill sound of the telephone interrupted Sienna’s thoughts and she went to answer it.

“Hi, Sienna, it’s your dad.”

“Hi Dad,” answered Sienna laughing internally, her dad always told her it was him when he called. She had caller id and had known him for her twenty-six years, she was well aware of his voice.

“Would you like to come to supper Saturday night?” he asked.

“That depends,” she replied, “is it going to be a nice family dinner or do you want to decide how much counseling I require.”

“Honey, we love you, we just want what is best for you.”

“I love you too, but I’m an adult and I have to make my own decisions. I know being on TV might be a bit out there but it seemed like the best solution at the time. People write to me all the time because of it, I’m still hoping that there will be a letter from him or someone who knows him. I still dream of him, and he matters a lot to me.”

“But, Sienna, you don’t even know if he is real.”

“You’re right, I don’t, but maybe someday soon I will. It’s been several months now that I have been thinking about him and the dreams aren’t going away. I can’t just give up – I won’t.”

“Come to supper anyways, I promise we will talk about other things. It’s been a while since I’ve seen you and I miss you.”

